Posted by: alainnneart | July 29, 2009

You bring me closer to god.

The overstressed 40 something daughter looked like she had been frazzled all night.  I don’t blame her.  I wouldn’t want my mother to have cancer either.  But she seemed almost over bearing.  She was priming over her mom, making sure her mom had a blanket, a pillow, the book, her iPod, a bag of medicine in her giant, over-sized bag.

Her daughter looked unkempt, blue men’s dress shirt wrinkles over jeans and a turtleneck. She had on sneakers that were worn down and filthy, like she had been running in the mud.  She smiled at her mom and said, “I’ll go get some coffee from the cafeteria and run some errands right around town.  I’ll be back in a few, ok?  Remember to take the herbal supplements I got you to help you with your nausea.”  The daughter fussed through the bag, searching for whatever miracle drug she thought she had.  Eventually she gave up and handed her the bag and turned to leave.  She was almost to the door when she turned and called, “and don’t forget I put Vivaldi on your iPod!  And you have acupuncture this afternoon”

After she left, I turned to her mom who was settling into her chair.  For a 60 year old, she looked good.  She still had a thick head of curly hair that had not thinned in the 6 cycles or the radiation.  Mind you, she is thin and looking frailer each time I see her.

I watched her light up as her grandson arrived.  John is in his 20s and a student at USF.  He has these intense, bright blue eyes that when he looks at you, it’s like he is looking right into your soul.  He and his grandmother are close, I can tell.  They look thick as thieves when they are together.

Today was a funnier day then usual.  When her daughter left, I noticed that Heather looked at her grandson and winked.  Thick as thieves, I saw Tony pull out his iPod from his pocket.  As soon as her daughter turned the corner, the ear buds came out of her ears.  Quickly, I watched as she and her grandson swapped iPods.  I walked over to them, curious to know what it was all about.

“Oh, yeah,” Heather said laughing, “I love my daughter.  I do.  But this bullshit is driving me insane.  Vivadli?  Really?  And acupuncture?” she laughed.

“Well, what are you listening to then?”

She smiled, popped the ear buds in.

“Nine inch nails of course.”

Responses

  1. Fantastic. My husband was very close with his Grandma Florence. Mine were all gone by the time I was 12, so I don’t have the same types of attachment. I love my MIL, but she’s not that exciting or fun, to me, but I recently learned that Kyle has been stopping by her house, just for the heck of it, when he is in town. She absolutely loves that. He told my husband, “I think Grandma 4444 is like Grandma Florence was to you.” Warms my heart…


Leave a Reply

Categories

