Posted by: alainnneart | July 12, 2009

Slumber time is so appealing

SC is acting strange.  He no longer wants to sleep in his bunk bed that he loved so much.  He no longer wants to snuggle with me on the rocking chair.  He no longer invades my bed, cocooning himself in my hand-stitched quilt.

No, SC just wants to sleep on the couch in the living room.  It’s a phase, I suppose, and it will pass I hope.  After all, the couch?  It’s lumpy and an ugly orange color.  It’s the size of a loveseat.  Why would any almost 4-year-old want to sleep there when he could sleep in an awesome bunk bed with a tent over it?  With actual stars floating above his head?  And glow in the dark planets circling?  Why would anyone want to miss the feeling of being in a real fort right in the middle of a bustling city?

But no, the past few nights we have been going to sleep on the couch.  I wait until he’s out cold, grasping his stuffed doggie, and then quietly pick up all 42 pounds of him and carry him into his room, putting him on the bed.

Like mother like son, I recalled tonight that I, too, used to hate to go to sleep in my room.  I would be put to bed in my brother’s room and then, in the middle of the night, my mom or dad would carry me into my room across the hall.  I guess the apple really doesn’t fall far from the tree.

Leave a Reply

Categories

