Posted by: alainnneart | June 14, 2009

dating

It’s interesting, this whole “dating” thing now that I am an adult and a mother as well. Once upon a time, I would go out, all gussied up, on dates. I would meet people, have fun, eventually falling in love with one of them and get married and live happily ever after, right?

OK, let’s flash forward a few years where you are now a single mom to an adorable SC. I never, EVER thought I would be in my 30s and dating. I had that picture of the fairy tale where you do indeed live happily ever after. But there is a reason that Cinderella had to be home by midnight and fairytales end when they do.

Today I have another day with the gent I have been seeing. It’s still rather new, so I feel the need to present myself well. I feel like I need to shave the legs, do the hair, match the outfit, find the right lipstick, chose the right perfume, have the right jewelry, pick the right shoes (ladies, you know what I am talking about… so you aren’t too tall but tall enough), find witty things to say, research current events, make the purse match the outfit, stop at the bank, pluck the eyebrows, suck in the gut and generally be an all around charming lady.

It’s exhausting.

Then it struck me that I am trying to be someone I am not. Truth is, I am not a model. I have no desire to eat like a pigeon. I hate makeup and jewelry. I am more comfy in my old UCSF sweatshirt and ripped jeans then in any skirt. I would rather be wearing my sneakers then any heels. I keep my long hair in sloppy pigtails and I rarely carry a purse. And, such is the sign of the times, when this Gent asked me where I would rather eat, salads or burgers, via text messaging, I stated “salad. I am trying to get myself into better shape”. There, it’s out there. I can be insecure and I wanted to see what he thought.

The response came quickly; in under a minute “I happen to think that your shape is quite nice Ali. But OK, we will target a healthy salad-filled dinner”

I blush to think that maybe this is a decent person.

For the record, after dinner we are hiking around land’s end. Beautiful sunsets.

Responses

  1. Good luck with this new guy! 🙂

  2. so far so good. (Blushing)


Leave a Reply

Categories

