Posted by: alainnneart | November 4, 2008

the world is watching… and waiting…

***** This entry does not belong to any part of National Writing Month entry, it’s just my feelings as I watch the news*******

I lost faith in my country long ago.  Gas prices, war, revenge, bankruptcy, fraud… this isn’t what I dreamed of for SC when he was just a glimmer in my eye.  I dreamt of a land where my son would grow to love and appreciate our leaders.  I dreamed a dream in time gone by of a place where he would be proud to call home.  I dreamed the future for my son, better then my own, to provide him with every dream waking moment that he was able to have on his own.

I lost that dream so, so long ago.  When faith and politics collide, and you see a country you once were proud to be apart of come apart at the seems; where childhood friends are shipped to an unknown country only to come back a shell of their once vibrant selves, if they come back at all; where you find yourself struggling to make the rent and pay the bills; in which you go to bed hungry in order for your child to have a meal… you lose hope.  You lose faith.  You lose the feeling of pride in your country.

And yet, tonight, for the first time in so very long that I can’t remember the last time I felt the flutter, a small flame has sparked, albeit faintly, in my heart.  There is change in the air.  It clings to the rain that is falling.  It whispers in the wind.  It fans the flames in my heart.  As I watch the television turn bluer and bluer, the flames get larger and larger.  They are burning.  He once wrote about the audacity of hope.  And now, what is this feeling, which has lain dormant in my body and mind for so long?

Hope.

***** This entry does not belong to any part of National Writing Month entry, it’s just my feelings as I watch the news*******

Leave a Reply

Categories

