Posted by: alainnneart | September 17, 2008

Brothers in arms

I spent the night tonight hanging out with M, my friend and X’s friend, who I had not seen in many years.  Mainly, his reason being, and a smart one I will defiantly agree with, is that he didn’t want to be in the middle of the break up.  He agreed that X was at fault, even though he’s known X since they were in preschool.

Anyway, it was odd, seeing him after all these years.  Odd in a strangely uncomfortable way that became more comfortable as we slipped into our old bantering habits as he watched SC, all grown since the last time he saw him.

We didn’t dwell on the past, because there is no point, but it was apparent that X cut his best friend out of his life.  It’s a shame, really, that someone would be that selfish.  But it’s not my decision to make, and he will have to live with the consequences.

I enjoyed my evening.  M has always been the guy I would turn to when I had a problem.  I have missed that over the past few years.  I am glad to have it back, but I don’t know if I really have it back.  I am not sure where it goes from here.  I am not sure if it’s just too late to get back what we had as bantering buddies.

All I know is that I really have missed him.  I could have used that support when the shit hit the fan, and now I am glad to be slowly picking up the pieces of our friendship again.

Responses

  1. I hope M sticks around, it’s always good to find an old friend.

  2. xx


Leave a Reply

Categories

