Posted by: alainnneart | September 8, 2008

But the same rule always applies… smile pretty and watch your back.

Non-profit organizations are really fucking pushy. Mind you, I used to work for a nonprofit many years ago but seriously, the State of California Policemen and Highway Patrol Association really needs to call off the dogs.

I am not insult our fine men and women in blue here; please understand, but the organization that keeps calling me for money. Many of my very dear friends are in the police department. In the past, I have worked closely with them on a few cases. But that does not give them the right to continue to call and harass me for money.

A few weeks ago they called and woke up SC from a nap. I had just spent 3 hours getting him to lay down and take a nap and they woke him up. To say that I was mildly annoyed may have been an understatement. Livid is a better word to describe my attitude at that moment.

“You just woke my toddler up from his nap!” I may have stated very strongly to the man, Michael, on the other line and quickly followed the exclamation with hanging up on him.

The next week: same call. And I hate to admit it, the same exact response from me. The next week was the same. Why can’t people get the picture? I am not giving you my money. If my police officer friends need to raise money, they can tell me directly.

Last week, “Michael” calls for the same for-profit company collecting money for a non-profit. He has this very distinct, husky voice. I interrupt him after he says, this call may be monitored etc and say, “look, I keep telling you people I cannot give you any money. If you can tell me how I can pay my rent this month, then maybe we have a deal” and promptly hung up on him. (For the record, the rent comment worked when the fire fighter’s kept calling me.) I figured it had worked.

This afternoon my phone rings. I assume it’s my cousin who I am visiting next month. I answer the phone:

“Hello is this Aliann?” says Michael in his husky voice. When I say yes he continues, “I am calling on behalf….” Blah blah blah…. “This call may be recorded….” Blah blah blah…

And so, zenful and mindful little me exploded. I mean, I went off like a volcano right on the phone: “I TOLD YOU I HAVE NO MONEY TO GIVE YOU LAST WEEK. STOP CALLING ME OK”

“Well mam, we want you to keep a lookout for the decals we are sending you….”

“AND SO HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO PAY THE RENT?! I AM ON A DO NOT CALL LIST!!”

“I hear your concerns and I will just put you down for twenty dollars of support.”

What happened in a split second is not like me. I see red. I see white. I am furious. I literally shout at the guy “NONONONONONONO!!! DON’T PUT ME DOWN FOR ANYTHING I AM NOT GIVING YOU ANY MONEY. STOP CALLING ME AND STALKING ME. AND SINCE THIS CALL MAY BE MONITORED LET ME MAKE THIS CLEAR: IF YOU CALL AGAIN I WILL CALL THE POLICE BECAUSE AFTER ALL, ISN’T THAT WHO YOU ARE SUPPORTING??!”

And I hung up. The end.

Responses

  1. Alainn,
    It seems to happen in three’s they say, two wannabe takers already on the list… you have one more loser maybe waiting in the wings! Keep a look out so you can make a hasty get away; failing that, just take no prisoners!
    Seriously, I hope you are doing o.k… you know my email… Keep safe and well. In my thoughts,
    ~vonne

  2. They call at my job all the time. I have REPEATEDLY told them not to… they have TWICE tricked my boss into giving them donations. I no longer even give them a minute, I just tell them to take us OFF THE LIST.
    Jerks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

